Kiwi Veggie Pizza

Kiwi Veggie Pizza

This past weekend provided a banquet for my brain.  Our Friday night tradition of homemade pizza and a movie was shifted to Sunday afternoon.  Friday evening I attended a three hour yoga workshop with Max Strom at Easton Yoga.  Saturday morning the logistics of working on the seven and a half foot wide, three-panel painting in my rather cramped (to put it mildly) studio space was solved.  Saturday evening Dine and I drove to Lambertville to see “Who Does She Think She Is?” a documentary on women artists in today’s society.  I saw many familiar faces and enjoyed the shared hugs and smiles.  Sunday morning I finished the write-up for the Creativity Workshop I’m teaching at the Straube Center this fall and moved boxes out of Nicole’s room so that she doesn’t feel displaced when she visits at the end of the week.  Late afternoon arrived and it was time for Pizza and a Movie.  The kiwi called out to me from the fruit drawer in the fridge and I thought it might be worth a try.  Tom and I watched “the Visitor” starring Richard Jenkins while I ate one of the most delicious pizzas I’ve ever made.  The movie inspired me to take advantage of the remaining daylight and to embrace the world of my backyard by clearing the piles of limbs that had remained scattered about since they were cut down in December to make room for the storage tent to house Tom’s large equipment.  Dragging the huge limbs back across the yard to the compost became a practice in meditation.  Fortunately my back held up well.  Somewhere between all of these thought provoking experiences I finished reading FLOW by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi and began The Mind’s I by Douglas R. Hofstadter and Daniel C. Dennett.  Quite a satisfying weekend.

