Cargo Pants for the traveling artist

Cargo Pants for the traveling artist

Having only four days to prepare and pack for a trip to France forced me to make quick decisions about what to pack and what not to pack.  At the last minute, I put the two pair of everyday pants I had chosen back into the closet and grabbed a pair of black cargo pants that I knew would dry quickly if I needed to wash them.  I had never worn them before and I hadn’t a clue as to where they had come from.  Most likely, they were handed down to me from either Nicole or Alexis, something from the Far Hills Rummage Sale that they never wore, or were tired of.  It was a bit risky to bring a pair of pants I’d never worn, but I had my yoga pants as a back up.  It ended up being one of the best packing decisions I made.  I wore them every day and, thanks to the wonderful baggy pockets on the side, I was able to sketch, write notes and take photographs in a moment’s notice, even while walking on cobblestone streets.The pocket on the right was the home of my digital camera and the pocket on my left was the home of my pencil and two moleskin notebooks, one lined and one unlined.  The waist pouch is something I picked up when traveling with Nicole in Portugal.  It is a soft,  sturdy cotton fabric, very flat, with a zippered compartment inside and out.  I kept my passport, money and a few flat essentials in the waist pouch. When I wasn’t sketching or taking notes, both hands were free and no weight (such as a back pack) on my shoulders.  There was even room in the pants’ pockets for my small watercolor kit, which I carried touring on the first day.  After realizing that I rarely had enough time to paint in one location while touring, and that walking while carrying a wet painting kept me from making further notes and sketches, I left the watercolor kit on the boat.

