I have committed to the six months of an hour a day required to complete the drawing exercises in John Ruskin’s book “The Elements of Drawing” first published in 1857.

Here are a few samples of my first attempts to complete my assignments.  How much easier it would be to tell myself that I don’t really need to do this.  As strong as the temptation is to quit, the feeling of satisfaction upon completing a task is quite remarkable.

I will have to repeat the exercise shown above several more times until I can make a more delicate transition to light value.

After several days of inking, tiny stroke by tiny stroke I decided to try a pencil drawing with a squiggly line technique rather than the parallel strokes I usually use to render.

I had grown rather weary by the time I tackled the shed in the back.

