Garden Rocks on a Sunday Morning in April 5" x 8" oil sketch

Rocks and trees are difficult.  I floundered about creating mixtures that were too purple, too green, too red.  I stuck to my limited palette of Cadmium Yellow Pale, Cadmium Yellow Medium, Cadmium Red Light, Alizarin Crimson, French Ultramarine Blue, Viridian and Permalba White.  I spent far too long on the tree trunk and the pattern of light on the rocks changed drastically.  The quickly changing conditions forced me to be inventive, eliminating all of the brambles and the weeds behind the trees.  I squinted so hard for so long that my eyes couldn’t focus at all anymore.  Finally I stopped fighting and became playful.  By now I should know that I can start off being playful.  I learn far more and I enjoy myself.

Gray scale image of the above painting

