Palette knife painting, April 24, 2010

Standing at an easel is an improvement over sitting with painting and palette on my lap.  Yesterday’s limited palette of Prussian Blue, Yellow Ochre and Venetian Red led me to be more expansive today.  I dug into my boxes of paints and pulled out the following: Yellow Ochre Pale, Yellow Ochre, Permanent Alizarin Crimson, Manganese Blue, Prussian Blue, Purple Lake, Prussian Green, Olive Green and Permalba White.  I wanted to see how far I could go with using the colors straight from the tube, using them for their value more than their color.  I lasted all of fifteen minutes before dipping into the white.

Painting in the middle of the day is challenging, the light being fairly flat and few strong shadows that can guide the eye from form to form on the canvas.  I tried to stick with the pattern of my preliminary pencil sketch.  Due to the thick layering of paint I continued to alter my original plan, sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse.  In the end, I’m not happy with the shapes, but I am excited by the strokes.  Tomorrow is another day.

