I am studying The Artistic Anatomy of Trees by Rex Vicat Cole.

Tree Branches against the sky - watercolor sketch

The book was originally published in 1915.  I often need to read a sentence three or four times before I even begin to get a sense of what is being communicated.  Cole’s writing style, his use of the English language, is similar to the style of John Ruskin, both reflect their era.  I have posted a page of quotes from the book.

I continue to struggle with painting the spirit of the trees that surround my home.  Perhaps if I think of them as dancers I will find a better means of expressing the uniqueness of their species and of their own shapes that have developed over seasons of sun, wind and rain.

three variations - watercolor sketches

Canopy of leaves - Watercolor sketch

