Before heading to the train station I checked my email and discovered I sold another Yoga Art painting on Etsy!  That covered the cost of parking, round trip train ticket and subway fare back and forth between Penn Station and The Hispanic Society of America’s museum on 155th Street and Broadway.

Sketchbook page. Drawing at the Spanish Museum

Until a few months ago I had never heard of the Spanish Museum.  This spring the panoramic series of fourteen canvases “Vision of Spain” painted by Joaquin Sorolla y Bastida (1863-1923) returned to the Spanish Museum after a three year tour of Europe. I had decided, shortly after getting my new hip, that my first “walking the streets and museums of New York” hip test would be a trip to see Sorolla’s “Vision of Spain”.  Both my hip and the museum exceeded my expectations.  And…. thanks to my Etsy sale, I am no poorer than when I pulled out of my driveway.

One thing I love about museums is that I always find unexpected treasures that direct my thoughts  in a totally different direction from the one I planned when entering the museum.  In this case, it was the optical illusion of the Toledo and Seville tiles (ca 1400-1550) that caught my eye as well as the art nouveau tin-glazed earthenware charger plate by Enrique Luis Ventosa (1868-1935).  I will return in the spring to draw one or two of the ironwork door knockers and to soak up more of Sorolla’s Spanish Sunlight.

