Painting and live music, especially when experienced together help me to maintain my balance.

Guitarist Jake Heck playing at the Blues Jam

The ink and watercolor wash portrait of Jake is my favorite painting from last night’s Blues Jam at the Larry Holmes Ringside Restaurant in Easton, PA.

Roberto, always an inspiration

It felt like an off-night for me.  I was a bit disconnected with my hand.  On nights like that, I try to use slightly different techniques and colors, hoping to open up new doors for myself.  I don’t mind when a drawing doesn’t work well when I am experimenting.  It takes the focus away from my mental state of distraction.

The experimental mixing of colors in the portrait of Roberto worked fairly well and brought a smile to my face.  Roberto continues to be a wonderful visual inspiration for me.  Thank you, Roberto!

