The house in Martinsville, NJ is filled with memories of growing up and growing old.

Wooden Elephant Table Beside An Empty Chair. Ink and Watercolor Sketch

I drew the ink drawing while sitting on the couch the morning after a late night gathering with my siblings.  This morning I added watercolor washes.  It bothers me that there is variation of light on the objects yet no shadows are being cast by the objects.  To throw shadows in at this point would alter the shapes significantly.  Reality is not the focus of this sentimental sketch.

Form without Shadows

Odd choice of color for me.  I seem to be a bit stuck on the double complementary colors yellow/purple and red/green.  I have other paintings with this color scheme on my Creative Color Blog.

I feel that time is short to capture the images from my childhood home.

