The smiles on the musicians’ faces when they see themselves in watercolor means that the energy is flowing well between sound and sight.

Mark Locher at the Tuesday Night Blues Jam

After finding out that Mark is also an artist, his smiles meant even more to me.  This portrait of Mark is my favorite painting of the evening.  The color bleeds work well and the ink drawing is simple yet strong.  The double complementary color scheme sneaks in again.

I’m not sure how I left the tubes of red paint at home, but I did.  I felt a bit naked without the cadmium red light on my palette to splatter onto a painting if it started to get too muddy or dark.  Perhaps it was better that I didn’t have it as a crutch.  The night went extremely well without it.

As usual, I began with an ink drawing followed by watercolor wet in wet washes.

