Today is Betty Stroppel’s birthday.  Happy Birthday Betty!  This little sketch of my baby oxalis plant opening into the morning sun is for you!

Baby Oxalis Plant in the Morning Sun, watercolor sketch

Betty doesn’t use a computer, so she will not be able to read this post.  I will print a giclee of this little sketchbook painting and send it to her by way of snail mail, a post-birthday surprise package.  I spoke with her this morning and she had just finished a piece of Boston Lime Pie.  Hmmmmm. Never heard of that before.  A bit early in the day for pie, but it’s her birthday.  She can eat pie all day long if she wants to.  Her voice is weak, but her spirit is strong!  She continues to inspire me to paint each and every day and to become a much stronger painter.  I will not let her down.

Study of an oxalis plant: I began with a line drawing done with my Waterman Phileas fountain pen, followed by watercolor washes.   The inspiration for the color study was the shapes of the leaves and shadow.

