While writing the check for the latest delivery of heating oil my mind wandered to thoughts of Spring and the new shapes and colors that will fill the landscape and delight my eyes.  I remembered the series of pastel paintings I did several years ago of fresh lilies from the garden.

Lilies, pastel painting

This pastel painting was done prior to my return to study of color and prior to my squiggle ink drawings.  I’m amused when I recognize the roots of something that has developed into a technique that I return to again and again such as the squiggles.  I remember playing with the warm and cool variations of the colors hoping to create an illusion of depth, but felt that I didn’t understand what I was doing enough to push the painting any further without overworking the paper and losing the brilliance that I love so much about pastel.  When I look at the painting now, I understand a great deal more than I did back then.  Perhaps I will attempt another lily painting when the weather turns warm, the garden is abloom and I’m no longer writing checks to the oil company.

 

