Urania is one of the nine muses, goddesses of music, song and dance.  Urania’s distinctive attribute is astronomy.

Urania, Goddess of Astronomy, watercolor and gouache

This painting may or may not be hanging on the wall at Connexions Gallery in Easton, PA as part of the Spring Show.  I will find out tonight at the opening.  The painting is one from the series of watercolor paintings based on mythology.  I return to the exploration of archetypes as I attempt to capture the essence of character, posture and personality of the musicians I paint on Tuesday nights at the Blues Jam. Understanding the archetypes of mythological characters helps me to observe and express the interactions of people in public places.

I mix gouache into my watercolor to bring back light areas and redefine shapes that create patterns of movement through the painting.

