Even when I’m not quite in the right balance for ink and paint to flow, a few gems come home with me from the Tuesday Night Blues Jams.

Joe Mac at the Blues Jam

The portrait of Joe Mac is my favorite painting of the night.  Nothing seemed to be going right for me until he started playing and the hand responded.  My mind was in such a funk, I wasn’t sure if it worked or not.  The smile on Joe’s face when he saw it made the whole night worthwhile.

Drawn first with dip pen and black ink, followed by watercolor washes of cool blues and purples.

Postcards for the exhibit of the Blues Jam paintings at Connexions Gallery (opening reception onMarch 16th) didn’t make it in time for me to pass them around to the musician last night.  I’ll post info on Facebook and pass out postcards next Tuesday night.

