Pouring rain could not dampen the spirits of the musicians, artists and friends who gathered together last night at Connexions Gallery for the opening of my exhibit Music as Muse.  Thank you!  Anthony and Alice did a spectacular job hanging the show.  The music of Maria Woodford, Mance Robinson and Ian Walters filled the room with electric energy and brought smiles to everyone.

Little did I know that as the reception ended and I would normally have headed home, my night was just beginning.  Several of us walked up the street, turned the corner and walked through the doors of the Lafayette Bar.  The jazz trio, Zach Brock (violin), Matt Wigton (bass) and Frederick Kennedy (drums) are known as The Magic Number.

Zach Brock - jazz violin

I had my fountain pen with me, but not my sketchbook.  I had taken it out of my bag at the last minute, wanting to lighten the load of the bag I would carry about with me at the opening.  Maria saved the day by asking the bar tender for a cigarette carton that was white on the inside as well as donating a dozen of her own postcards (blank backs) for me to draw on.  The surfaces were slippery but served me well.

When the sketchbook is left at home

Live jazz is at the Lafayette Bar twice a month.  I will be there often.

