I felt like I was painting on blotter paper and not liking it.  Rather than pack up and feel miserable, I kept going and the magic began to happen.

Chad Wynn playing guitar at the Blues Jam

I should know better than to paint on scraps of mat board.  Watercolor paper works so much better when using ink.  I experimented with blue ink and red ink last night in addition to my usual black ink. When I opted to stick with it for a while longer, I switched to a more flexible pen point and dipped into the last few drops of my black ink.  This painting of Chad Wynn turned the evening around and I ended up with a few gems.

Drawn first with black ink using a dip pen, followed by washes of watercolor.

Tuesday Night, Todd Wolfe Blues Jam at the Larry Holmes Ringside Restaurant in Easton, PA.

