The conflict of my intentions was immediately apparent.

Matt Roman at the Blues Jam

My plan was to focus on the structure and planes of the musician’s heads, breaking them down into geometric abstractions if necessary.  After my first study, I realized that I felt totally out of sync and felt that I was “lagging behind”.  Why? because my eyes and my arm, hand and fingers respond to the tempo of the music.  When I am moving slower than the music tempo, I am fighting with the natural flow of the line.  The whole purpose of painting at the Blues Jam, that of capturing and expressing the “moments”.  Those careful explorations of the facial planes will have to happen somewhere else.  It is for drawings like the one of Matt Roman that I show up every week at the Blues Jam.  Thanks for the inspiration Matt!

Ink drawing using dip pen in Speedball permanent ink.

