Shopping makes me crazy.  I avoid it at all costs unless I’m with my kids.  They have the ability to transform the experience into a delightful adventure.  Unfortunately, they no longer live close by.

Parking Lot Landscape

With a few minutes to spare I pulled into the giant parking lot, checked in Michael’s, Staples and Target for Copic markers.  By the time I returned to my car I was in the middle of a panic attack.  A quick value sketch of the parking lot calmed me down and put a smile back on my face.  A tree in a parking lot works as well as a tree in an arboretum.

Another good reason to always have paper and paint handy.  A woman sitting calmly in her car painting is not quite as much of a public spectacle as a woman outside of her car doing yoga in a shopping mall parking lot.

Quickly sketched first with a mechanical pencil. Followed by watercolor using only Burnt Umber.

