I keep slipping further behind on my Daily Paintworks Challenges.  My personal muse is screaming at me for attention, especially when I have so little time.

Broccoli, oil on wood panel

I am letting go of my commitment to the Daily Paintworks Challenge and embracing the Daily Chris Carter Challenge.  I will continue to check in the DPW Challenge, but I will skip the ones that require me to work from a photograph.  I like working from life and life is too short to paint from photographs if I can avoid it.

Today I said goodby to “Hecate”.  I don’t often barter these days, but I was swept off my feet by a black and white photograph by Brad Browne, “Before the Sermon”. (It’s the one featured on his web site main page.  It now hangs on my wall, thanks to “Hecate”.  I am glad that painting has a good home.  It is one that is quite special to me.

Hecate the Moon Goddess

Title: Hecate
Dimensions: 22″ x 30″

Hecate is known as the Moon Goddess or Queen of the Night. She is also a Triple Goddess. The Triple Goddess represents the Maiden, the Mother and the Crone. The maiden is both innocent and a seductress. The Mother is fertile and strong, able to nourish the emotional needs of her children while also protecting them physically. The Crone is wise and skilled at healing body, soul and spirit. Her guise as Maiden and Mother are often forgotten.

