Instead of sipping wine and painting while listening to the Blues I munched on kale, collard greens and turnips while listening to the evening birds outside my window.

Drawing Table and Dinner for a Rabbit

My paperwork has grown to that dangerous stage of multiplying on its own to get attention, very much the same way that laundry multiplies to make up for those socks that vanish leaving a basketful of single socks sitting around for months waiting for the other sock to show up.  Quotidian tasks fight for my precious time.  I would rather be painting the newly bloomed roses, the thriving oxalis plants on the front porch and the musicians at the Tuesday Night Blues Jam.

On a more positive note, I’m enjoying my Noodler’s Flex Pen and the Marine Green Ink.  The weight of the pen is a bit lighter than I like, but the flexibility of the nib is quite satisfactory.  I can achieve both fine line and heavier line depending on the pressure I use.  The heavier line is helpful to bring back a few elements of the drawing after laying in the watercolor washes.  For a $14 fountain pen, it is fabulous!

The collard greens, kale, giant scallions and baby turnips are from Nicole’s garden coop.  I steamed the greens, lightly sauteed the other veggies in olive oil and fresh tarragon, added a bit of salt and black pepper and tossed it all together.  Quite crunchy and delicious.  It required enough serious chewing that I was able to complete this sketch before heading back to my piles of paperwork.

Sketches: Drawn in first with Noodler’s Flex Fountain Pen filled with Noodler’s Green Marine Ink, followed by watercolor washes, followed by heavier ink lines drawn with the same Flex Pen.

