After so many years of fine tuning my eye-hand coordination, I still find myself drawing what I think I see, not what is in front of me.

Dragon ink drawing

Perhaps, because it was 4:45 am and the caffeine hadn’t yet kicked in.  Perhaps the lighting was poor and, propped up in bed with a pile of pillows, I was too far from Dragon to see clearly.  Whatever excuse I might have, the truth is that I hadn’t a clue as to which contour to follow to depict the forms of my dragon statue. The more I looked, pretending my fountain pen was actually gliding along the surface of the wing, the face, the neck or the leg, I became confused.  Convex became concave and concave became convex as I became more frustrated.

As I poured my second cup of coffee and made my bed I thought about the chasm between youth and adult thinking.  As a child, I assumed I knew nothing and was open to everything without preconceived notions.  As an adult, I have decades of experience and understanding to rely on.  I assume I know what the world and the objects in the world look like, when in fact, I would benefit by viewing the world as if everything before me is totally new and alien.  I would then draw what I see, not what I think I see.

Dragon drawing:  blocked in first with pencil, then drawn in ink using Preppy Fountain Pen filled with Noodler’s Whaleman Sepia ink.

