The day passed.  As the sun was setting I felt like the Cheshire Cat, grinning from ear to ear.

Acrylic set up on front porch

I didn’t use the paper palette that can be seen through the sheet of plexiglass.  I ended up moving the damp paper towels with squeezed out paint onto a stay-wet palette that I can easily move aside to clean off the plexiglass every few minutes before the paint hardened on it.

The results of my first day making friends with acrylic paint

My first mental block had been my inability to mix lovely colors.  My second block was the idea of ruining my good brushes by using them with acrylic paints.  The first block I erased when I took the time to create color charts.  The second one was erased by using a flat pan filled with water to rest the brushes in when I wasn’t using them.  Easily portable.  Perfect!  I used synthetic watercolor brushes.  They are still fine this morning.  Whew!

My favorite of the day

As the hours passed I allowed myself more freedom to be creative with color, shapes and strokes.  I used the landscape across the street as a catalyst for tapping into my personal response to the paint on the wood panel, allowing inventive forms and color schemes.

When the sun set, I was able to stack all eight paintings on top of one another and carry them into the house.  Incredible.

Limited palette: Perylene Red, Indian Yellow Hue, Prussian Blue Hue, Permanent Sap Green, Raw Umber, Titanium White.

