Painting for the hospital project has been incredibly fun.  It also challenges the logistics of painting large when I no longer have a large studio to paint in.

Painting in Studio 15A

I definitely don’t miss the soot falling from the ceiling as I cut rag mats.  Nor do I miss the birds flying through and relieving themselves on unprotected canvases.  It was horridly hot in the summer and frigid in the winter.  All I miss is the space, the space for storage, for painting, and the space to step back thirty feet from a painting. Now I wait until nightfall when there are no reflections on the windows.  I walk outside and view large canvases from the backyard through the windows.  So be it.

Painting large watercolors is a whole different challenge.  They need to dry flat, unless I want arbitrary drips.  For the hospital paintings, that’s not what I wanted.  Just about every room in my house had paintings drying on the floor.

After the choices have been made by the client, I will post the paintings.  The photos I took are pretty terrible and I don’t want them online.  I’ll have to try again.  It’s difficult to photograph large paintings with white backgrounds.  My digital camera wants to make the white a 60 percent gray, or yellow or orange or something else rather arbitrary.

