Serious storms flood my basement.  It’s a great time to clear my studio to make room for throwing paint and letting loose my creativity!

One that didn't make the cut

This is one of the large paintings I did for the St. Luke’s hospital project.  Perhaps it was the music I was listening to.  Perhaps it was the third glass of wine I drank.  Perhaps it was the fact that it was 2 am in the morning and I had been painting for ten hours straight.  It is not the sort of painting I want to look at while I wait in a hospital, either as a patient or a friend/relative of a patient.  I do, however, love the painting.  However, I did not present it as a choice for the client.  After painting this one I went to bed.  The next day I chose uplifting music and focused on creating positive energy for a healing environment.

The Family of Man

I trusted my instincts and my brush.  This painting measures two foot by 4 foot, painted on 300lb watercolor paper. I can’t express what it feels like to paint directly from heart to paper.   There are no second chances.

I am totally addicted to letting loose in this large scale. I thank the musicians, dancers and yogis for inspiring five years of painting live in the Lehigh Valley.  What fun.  Someone out there ….. please give me an entire wall. I want to paint a mural that will inspire people to smile, to dance and to sing.

This recent series of large paintings will be hung in the “Bone and Joint” wing on the second floor of the hospital.  Having a titanium hip myself, I couldn’t be happier.

It’s almost 4 pm.  Tom has agreed to stay up with me until midnight to welcome Irene as she blows through town.

