My first night back home with power.  I could finally scan last week’s Blues Jam paintings.

Rob Fraser and Jb Balshi

It was Jb’s birthday last Tuesday.  I smiled when I saw him walk in, happy that he chose to play music on his birthday.  He definitely has his priorities in order!

Arne playing his own version of Happy Birthday for Jb

It turned out to be an exceptional night for painting in spite of the ongoing power outage at home due to Hurricane Irene.  Tom and I ended up without power from early Sunday morning through late afternoon the following Saturday.

I had to skip the Blues Jam tonight.  Too much to catch up on after six days of camping out with my siblings at my father’s, cleaning out sixty years of family life. We were without power there, too, for several days.

I’ll be back on track soon.

Paintings: drawn first with black ink using a dip pen, followed by strokes of watercolor.

