Passageways fascinate me whether they are for breath to pass through to create sound or vehicles to drive through to get from one adventure to another. The interweaving of overpasses outside of New York City and Hartford, Connecticut intrigue me.

Trumpet Parts, sketch 11 of 100

I’ve been asking myself why I bought a box filled with broken trumpet parts and why I decided to do a series of 100 drawings or paintings of the broken pieces.  What was so irresistible?

When I think back on my elementary school, the first image that pops into my mind is the exposed pipes that ran along the ceiling of the first floor where I attended kindergarten, First Grade and Second Grade.  Each time I walked down the hallway my eyes traced the path of the pipes.

A French Horn is a ridiculous mass of brass tubing bent this way and that.  What kind of a person would take the time to figure out that bending piping in such a peculiar fashion would produce such a magnificent sound?

One of my favorite pastimes as a child was drawing mazes.  The trumpet parts and the expressway interweaving of roads are, for me, three dimensional mazes that capture and hold my attention.

Trumpet Parts, sketch 10 of 100

I doubt that I will become bored with this series of 100 drawings and paintings.  When I start my day with one of these ten minute sketches my day is better because of it.

Drawing 11 of 100: Drawn with Flex fountain pen filled with North African Violet Noodler’s Ink

Drawing 10 of 100: Drawn with Flex fountain pen filled with North African Violet Noodler’s Ink and Ciao Copic Markers

