Between unpacking boxes to transform what looks like a warehouse back into our home / studio, I painted new color wheels in oil to begin a series of color/value lessons on the CreativeColor Blog.  It will be a few days before they are dry enough to turn upside down onto the scanner.

Trumpet Part, color and gray scale mode

With twelve pages left to go in the red sketchbook with wood pulp paper, I decided to combine my commitment to 100 sketches of trumpet parts with the task of creating examples for the lessons I’ll be presenting on the other blog. The focus of this lesson series is choosing color by value rather than by hue.  The easiest way I know to make the point of how tricky it can be to determine the value of a color is to use a computer to transform a color image into a gray scale mode.  Sometimes the values are what you expect them to be; other times they are drastically different.

trumpet parts, color and gray scale mode

It has been a challenging several weeks.  My studio is almost functional again.  The new furnace is in, thanks to Luke and the hand truck we borrowed from the prop shop.  Tom is connecting the water and gas lines.  We should have heat before the next cold spell.  We’ve not closed yet on my father’s house, but that should happen soon.  I had a fabulous day celebrating a belated birthday with Nicole at our favorite garden center, Terrain, just outside Philadelphia.  I’m heading back to The Grisly Pear in New York City tomorrow night to paint at the Blues Jam.  Life is good.

Drawn first with Roller Pen filled with Black Swan in English Rose Noodler’s Ink, followed by washes of watercolor.  Color sketches scanned and transformed to Gray Scale using Gimp Software.

