The series of lessons on Color/Value has begun.  I posted Lesson One on my Creative Color blog last night.

Sneak preview of next color wheel

I will be posting no more than two lessons per week, usually only one.  I know how difficult it is to carve time out of the day to sit down and paint color wheels or to complete assignments of any kind while still exploring one’s own path.  I am starting at the very beginning, the absolute basics to build a strong foundation for a comprehensive understanding of color, specifically focused on value.

When choosing colors either pure or for mixing, recognizing the intrinsic value of the color can produce fresh, expressive color as well as stronger compositional elements in a painting.  An added bonus is that the traveling painter is able to travel lighter, needing fewer tubes of paint to express the experience of the day.

I will use a variety of media throughout the lessons, oil, acrylic, watercolor, gouache and pastel. Each lesson asks the participating artists to apply the lesson in a painting of choice.  These sample paintings may be submitted to me if the artist is so inclined.  I will, on occasion post some of these samples (giving credit and links to the artists of course) on a special page of the Creative Color blog.  We will all learn far more by viewing the work of a variety of artists rather than just my own examples.

If you can think of creating color wheels and sample swatches as a form of meditation it makes the exercise less of a chore and more of a joy.

