A few samples drawn for my Dad after our walk together.

Ink and Peerless Watercolor Papers

I think drawing and painting will open up a new way to communicate with my father as words become more difficult for him.  The Peerless Watercolor Papers and a waterbrush make it extremely easy for us to sit side by side on a bench and add color to simple pencil or ink drawings.  As the weather gets colder, we will be able to sit in the car and sketch and paint.  If it is too cold to sit in the car, we can go to a mall.  I am not a shopper, but I love to sketch the bustle of the place.  Dad and I can sit at a table sipping coffee and sketching the people walking by.  He won’t remember where he was or that he was drawing and painting, but he will have a sketchbook filled with the proof of his experiences.

I have posted the drawings and painting he did today on the Carter Family Blog if you would like to take a look.

Sketch: Drawn first with fountain pen followed by washes of watercolor with a Kuretake Water Brush and Peerless Watercolor Papers

