Experiencing a delayed response, or a ghost image in my brain, has happened before, but never poured out onto the paper as clearly as it did last Monday night at The Grisly Pear Blues Jam.

David Bennett Cohen on Keyboard

I had just finished a sketch of Big Ed Sullivan that had not captured his features at all.  I moved on…. there is never time to fuss during a jam.  I grabbed another piece of paper and  sketched David Bennett Cohen sitting beside me playing keyboard.    My brain must have still been holding the image of Ed’s profile because the result was a cross between the two musicians, a bit odd.  If Big Ed wore David’s glasses and sat down at the keyboard, he might look like the painting shown here.

Watercolor / Ink sketch: drawn first with dip pen using Noodler’s Black Swan in English Rose Ink, followed by watercolor.

