Fortunately, Tom allows my trumpet parts to remain on the table during dinner.  I had moved the trumpet slightly to make room for a platter.  The light was right, the angle perfect, my eye level even with the three empty valve casings.  The trumpet balanced, silhouetted against an illuminated sky.

Trumpet Parts No. 32

Eating dinner was a challenge with such a fabulous abstraction in front of me.  By the time the plates were cleared, the moment was long gone.  This morning I attempted to recreate that moment.  I’ll try again, giving more emphasis to the open valve casings. I want strong contrast between background and trumpet while still indicating form in the darks.  The value scale is critical in the drawing I see in my mind.

Drawing:  Drawn first with fountain pen followed by Ciao Copic Markers.

