I admit that I’m hooked on my mason jar filled with rooting oxalis clippings (that haven’t yet rooted).

Various color schemes

To recap the roll of the twelve-sided die (See the basic rules of the Color Scheme Game), I threw the following:

Far left: First Throw for Color Scheme – #2 … Complementary

Second Throw for Dominant Color – #8 … Red / Purple

Center: First Throw for Color Scheme – #5 … Analogous

Second Throw for Dominant Color – #2 … Yellow / Green

Far Right: First Throw for Color Scheme – #12 … Modified Triad

Second Throw for Dominant Color – #11 … Orange

For me, the color scheme that I felt most challenged by was the last, the Modified Triad with Orange as the dominant color.  The modified triad colors were Red, Orange and Yellow, all on the warm side of the color wheel.  I would never choose this color scheme.  I was tempted to throw the dice for what I considered a better choice of dominant color.  That, of course, defeats the purpose of playing the game.  Once I began laying in color, I ended up enjoying the painting.  I might even choose this again in a plein air oil painting!

Sketchbook paintings:  drawn first with fountain pen filled with black ink followed by watercolor washes

