I’m a Hoosier, born in West Lafayette, Indiana, raised in New Jersey.  I feel helpless while watching the live broadcasts of the devastation in Indiana from tornadoes.  What am I doing about it?  Nothing.  I am painting trumpet parts.  Ignorance is bliss.  Knowledge is painful.

Trumpet Parts No. 52 .... disconnected parts ...

The least I can do is venture out of the lines, beyond the boundaries set by the ink that flows from my fountain pen.

I am in awe of the power of nature.  I have been on the face of a cliff, pounded by hail stones, secured only by a rope.  But I have never had the roof of my house blown off.  I feel helpless, trying to view a large picture when only the details of the small picture are getting to my heart.

Sketchbook drawing: drawn first with fountain pen, followed by watercolor, followed by fountain pen

