To celebrate St. Patrick’s Day I thought I would paint today’s trumpet parts drawing as a monochromatic green color scheme.

Trumpet Parts No. 60

I only got as far as yellow/green for the table and blue/green for the shadows on the table.  The thought of painting the daffodil green made my stomach turn.  I simply couldn’t do it.  The first daffodil from the garden insists on a bit of dignity and wants to remain yellow. I was then left with the dilemma of the napkin.  I could have painted it a rich, dark green that would contrast nicely with the yellow blossom.  The truth is that I made the drawing in the early morning.  I didn’t have a chance to get back to it until this evening.  We threw a St. Patrick’s Day party for Tom’s family.  Everything was green, the tablecloth, napkins, three pots of green oxalis as a centerpiece, decorations as well as all of the guests who arrived in bright green clothing with green hats and green beaded necklaces with green pots of gold hanging from them.  We all had a delightful time playing in the yard, eating yummy food, drinking ale and ending the festivities by eating green cookies.  I had spent the day in a monochromatic color scheme of green.  A purple napkin felt like a better choice.

Sketchbook drawing: drawn first with fountain pen filled with black ink followed by watercolor.

