I started playing the Color Scheme Game and the Extended Game to improve my own skills and to evaluate the level of my work in each of the areas of concentration.  What I discovered is that it’s an incredible learning tool.  It’s a game.  It’s fun, it’s not judgmental and it has sharpened my skills more efficiently and painlessly than any other curriculum of study I’ve put myself through.

I grabbed a tablecloth, vase filled with long-stemmed orange roses, my sketchbook and a pen.  With arms filled I stepped out into the sunny March day and set up outside to give Game Three another test-run.  In Game Three the dice are thrown to determine the compositional arrangement of your drawing: Horizontal, Vertical, Cruciform, Axial Hold, Radial or Cantilever. I was re-introduced to these arrangements in Jane R. Hofstetter’s wonderful book 7 Keys to Great Paintings.

Roses in Vase, Horizontal Compositional Arrangement

Roses in Vase, Vertical Compositional Arrangements

Vertical compositions can be used in both horizontal and vertical formats.

Roses in Vase, Cruciform Compositional Arrangement

Roses in Vase, Axial Hold Compositional Arrangement

Roses in Vase, Radial Compositional Arrangement

Roses in Vase, Cantilever Compositional Arrangement

I spent about three minutes on each of the sketches.  I already feel the potential for amazing growth painting outdoors this spring. If I take twenty minutes to sketch the landscape in six variations and chose the one that excites me the most, I am sure to eliminate a good number of boring paintings.

Sketches:  0.5 Preppy Fountain Pen filled with Noodler’s Green Marine ink.

