Yesterday I attended the orientation for the aritists who will be painting en plein air during the upcoming event, Mixing Palettes, and Art and Wine Weekend, to be held April 14th and 15th, 2012.

Old York Cellars Vineyard on a Rainy Day in March

The wine, by the way, is exceptional!  I’m not a big fan of white wine, but I will buy several bottles of Vidal Blanc during the weekend event.  The Cabernet Sauvignon is also exceptional and I will purchase several bottles of that, too.  How can I resist?  As a participating artist, i receive a discount…. and so do my friends if they attend!

After the orientation I wandered the vineyard in the damp, chill and snapped photos to help me decide where I will choose to paint during the weekend.  The image I’ve posted here was done from one of the photos.

Watercolor of Old York Cellars Vineyard: watercolor on watercolor paper ( I am done with the lousy, thin paper in the black sketchbook I’ve been using for my last few Trumpet Parts paintings. )  Less is better.  I like the simplicity of this watercolor painting.

