After many years of wanting to learn how to bind multiple signatures of watercolor paper, I now can make my own, coptic bound sketchbooks!

Coptic Binding of an eight signature sketchbook

The sky is the limit!  I am beyond ecstatic!

My first handmade sketchbook

I know I committed to completing the sixty six incomplete sketchbooks on my shelf.  I have completed over half of them.  Now that I can make my own, mixing hot press, cold press, rough, bristol board, and scraps of whatever, I don’t know if I will be able to resist striking out into new territory.  I am excited beyond belief.  For at least eight years I have wanted to learn coptic book binding in order to make my own sketchbooks.  Today that became a reality.  Thank you Liz Mitchell and the Printmaking Center of New Jersey for a wonderful workshop.

