Here is the final version of the painting I started yesterday, bugs and all….. at least five insects managed to become part of the painting as well as a few blades of grass when I was snapping a photo of it leaning against a tree.

En plein air landscape oil painting, second session

With one ear listening for a call to start digging again for a ghost tank prior to closing on my father’s house, I painted in the dazzling sun, appreciating my own backyard with every stroke of the brush.

Another small one, quick and fresh

I am totally loving my large palette!  I feel like Rip Van Winkle just awakening from a long sleep.  My brush is dancing and my heart is singing.  My love affair with oil paints has been re-ignited.

Paintings: Plein Air landscapes, oil on prepared birch panels

