Perfect day for a trip to New York City!

Waiting for the train, Gladstone , New Jersey

I thought I would sketch in the city as I usually do, but my brain was on overload.  About thirty women showed up at the National Association of Women Artists (N.A.W.A.) Spring Salon Social to share work and meet one another, a diverse and delightful group.  After the gathering I walked a few blocks down to the Salmagundi Club where the American Watercolor Society 145th International Exhibition is currently hanging. I was pleased that Eric Wiegardt’s loose and evocative painting, The Duckhunter, won the Gold Medal and Andrew Evansen’s Scene from the Rooftops, Izamal (only 13″ x 11″) won the bronze medal.  I was even more pleased that Serge Hollerbach’s The Street – Fleeting Impressions, only 12″ x 16″, an abstract suggestion of a group of people, also won a significant prize.

Walking back to Penn Station, I passed the Fashion Institute of Technology and couldn’t resist going into their gallery.  I’m not fashionable myself, but I adore the lines, shapes, textures and rhythms I experience when viewing the work of haute couture designers.  My favorites today were Roberto Cavalli’s mulitcolored silk crepe de chine slip dress and corset from 2002, Donna Karan’s red jersey dress from 2009 and Isabel Toledo’s taupe silk faille cocoon dress from 2002.

Red Jersey Dress, sketchbook page

I arrived back at Penn Station with only two minutes to spare to catch an earlier, faster train. Instead of sitting and sketching people coming and going, I hopped on the train, head spinning with a full day’s inspiration.

Sketchbook drawings: Top: drawn first with fountain pen followed by Peerless Watercolor Paper pigments using a waterbrush.  Bottom: sketched with fountain pen.

