For some, the words play and perspective would never be uttered in the same breath.

My early childhood pattern blocks, a stack of three

My fascination with perspective  may be a surprise to those who are used to seeing my flowing lines of ink and dashes, splats and splatters of watercolor that suggest musicians and dancers.  I’m stoking up the embers of earlier interests, going back as far as I can remember.  My interest isn’t as much in drawing objects correctly using perspective as it is creating the great shapes and planes around the objects, the result of the intersections of lines connecting the objects to vanishing points.  The objects exist only to validate the existence of the intersecting planes.

I’m curious to see how this rekindled love of geometry will find its way into my other work.  Right now, I’m blissfully happy playing with planes, the byproduct of perspective lines.

Sketchbook painting: Pattern Blocks From My Childhood, drawn first in pencil, followed by watercolor.  I’m sure you’ll be seeing a lot more of these blocks.

