An amazing five days of plein air painting near the Chesapeake Bay in Maryland!  I arrived a bit late for appetizers, but not too late for dinner.

Henriette and Dave playing Nine Ball after dinner

My visit began with a dinner party, Chris and Henriette, the lovely owners of the Organic Herb farm, Habenera Farm, just outside of Whitehaven were already sipping gin and tonics when I arrived.

Next morning, after a quick tour of possible locations to paint, I set out to claim my space from the massive population of Maryland bugs.

Muddy Hole Creek, Ellis Bay Wildlife Management Area

Muddy Hole Road turned out to be a goldmine of possibilities.  My first stop at the far end of Muddy Hole Creek, part of the Ellis Bay Wildlife Management Area.

En Plein Air, oil painting, 12″ x 16″, April 27, 2012

My Richard Schmid Color Charts were indispensable.  My intent was to capture the essence of the brilliant light upon the marshes.  I wanted clean color.  More later….. I painted four painting each day.  Too much mail to catch up on to post any more at the moment.

