This was, before the flood of rain, a dirt road winding through the woods along Muddy Hole Road in Tyaskin, Maryland.

Along Muddy Hole Road, Tyaskin, Maryland 12″ x 16″ oil painting, en plein air

I enjoyed the challenge of so many shapes and textures of grasses and trees.  I tried to play the cool greens against the warm greens.  A wash of Terra Rosa worked well as an underpainting color.  Fortunately, the bugs left me alone.  On rare occasion a car would drive by, slow down, then back up.  Two smiling faces would peer out the window at me and a pleasant conversation followed.  I was the rare bird from New Jersey who chose odd places to paint.

This, like most of the paintings I did on this trip, is a two hour painting.  I mixed most of my colors, comparing them carefully on my large palette, prior to applying the first brush stroke.  This is the first time I’ve experimented with pre-mixing colors.  I wouldn’t have been able to get this far in two hours if I hadn’t made sure the colors worked together on the palette first.  When painting alla prima, it is difficult to correct colors on the canvas without getting muddy.

