One last, little painting from Broad Creek, Tyaskin, Maryland.

Broad Creek, 5″ x 5″ en plein air oil painting

It amazes me that such depth of distance can be created on a 5″ x 5″ panel.  After several days of painting the marshes I was able to create the feeling of the bright light, the expansive space as well as the variations of texture and color in the various grasses with minimal brush strokes.  Before I return in October, I might warm up a few days prior to departure by painting quick studies from photographs.  As much as I don’t like working from photos, it’ll be worth it to get right down to business without wasting a few days on site getting accustomed to the marshes again.

Painting:  oil on gessoed birch panel, 5″ x 5″ en plein air. Painted over an underpainting wash of Permanent Mauve.

