Tomorrow night I will be painting Walter Trout and the Radicals as they perform at the ArtQuest Center at SteelStacks in Bethlehem, PA.  It is the first of five concerts I have been asked to paint at.

Drying and Carrying Box for live performance paintings

This is a significant shift from painting in bars, restaurants and theatres, taping my paintings to walls and drying them on top of neighboring beer and martini glasses. I rather like the intimacy of Porter’s Pub and The Grisly Pear.  I’ll let you know how I feel about the SteelStacks after tomorrow night.  For me, it is an honor to have been asked to paint at the main venue during the RiverJazz Festival as well as the upcoming Blues Festival.

Not knowing exactly where I will be allowed to paint, I will be prepared to paint either at a table or on an easel.  The main challenge is always “what to do with my ink and watercolor paintings as they are drying”.  Finally…. after seven years of painting live, I came up with a more compact, light-weight, solution …… I hope.  It measures 11″ x 15″ x 5.5″.

Stack-able drying shelves

I can dry 15 sheets of watercolor paper, 10.5″ x 14.5″ (images fit into a standard 12″ x 16″ mat).  My average number of paintings during a blues jam has been twelve.  I made the drying/carrying box out of 1/4″ foam core.  Each shelf is separate and stackable.  The two outside edges with the ties are also separate and lay flat when not opened up to hold the shelves together for transport at the end of the night.

I’ll let you know how it works out!  I can’t wait to let my creative spirit loose tomorrow night!

