I went home with twenty paintings from last night’s performance at SteelStacks Cabaret.  Boyertown High School Jazz Band opened for the Preservation Hall Jazz Band.  I imagine there were many proud parents in the audience.  What an honor to open for the likes of the New Orlean’s based Jazz Band.  I was eight years old when I saw the Preservation Hall Jazz Band for the first time.

Rickie Monie playing ‘His eye is on the Sparrow’

I ended up with more ink drawings than ink and watercolor drawings.  I liked the lines when I felt they captured the character of the musician.  I didn’t feel the impulse to dip my brush into the watercolor.  Instead, I grabbed a clean sheet of paper to capture the next moment in ink lines.

To view more of the drawings and paintings visit the RiverJazz album on my facebook page: Chris Carter Artist.

Drawing:  drawn with dip pen using Waterman Havana Brown ink.

