Egon Schiele, one of my favorite artists, died at the age of twenty eight.  I am sixty and have not accomplished what he did in only twenty eight years. There is so much I  have left to do before I close my eyes for the last time.  There is so much I want to accomplish before my brain starts to let me down, if indeed it is going to let me down.  My father suffers from Alzheimer’s.  I feel as if I am in a race against the time bomb of Alzheimer’s.  Perhaps I will escape it….. perhaps not.  Each day I eliminate more of the elements of my life that sap my time and energy.  I haven’t any time or energy to spare.  It all boils down to what lights my flame.

Bent Trumpet Parts No. 87

I don’t know if I will enjoy the series of Hedgerows as much as I have enjoyed the series of bent trumpet parts.  Only time will tell.  I have only thirteen more trumpet parts drawings to go.

The proportions of this drawing went totally awry.  I didn’t paint the lower three sections because it would then be even more obvious how drastically wrong the drawing is.  What I love about drawing directly with ink is that there is no going back.  It is what it is.  It’s not about being perfect, it’s about observing more carefully.

Sketchbook line drawing: drawn first with Noodler’s Flex fountain pen filled with Nodler’s Ottoman Azure ink, followed by watercolor.  Analogous color scheme….. purple blue as the dominant color.

 

