Sometimes the ink bleeds a bit too much.

Trumpet Parts No. 89, Complementary Color Scheme

I’m going to try a few more experiments on this sketchbook drawing, but want to post the original version of it before I attack with more line drawing of pea plants and maybe a bit of gouache to tame the ink bleed.

The paper in my sketchbook is extremely absorbent.  I thought I had mixed plenty of the blue-violet mix for the background of the upper rectangle.  I hadn’t.  I ran out before I could complete the top left corner.  Not wanting a hard line, I quickly mixed what I thought might be close …. no time to test ….. have to keep the puddle moving.  I was a bit too blue and too saturated.

In spite of its problems, I had a great time both drawing and painting this combination of trumpet parts and the plants outside my back door.

Trumpet Parts No. 89 Revised

Later ….. I did add more ink and watercolor, but I didn’t add gouache to cover the bleed.

Sketchbook drawing: drawn first with Noodler’s Flex Fountain Pen followed by watercolor.  The color scheme and dominant color was determined by the throw of my twelve-sided die.  Complementary Color Scheme (Violet and Yellow)

