What a joy to sit on my front step and draw the Spiderwort (Tradescantia) that Alexis planted by the front door, many years ago.

Spiderwort plant, (Tradescantia)

I was counting on it storming all day, both today and tomorrow.  Instead, it was a gorgeous.  The sun shone brightly and a cool breeze kept the air fresh while I sorted boxes and piles in the basement, years of unsorted, need-to-be-thrown-out stuff.  It it emotionally wrenching to be smacked in the face with flashbacks every two minutes.

Before the sun had dipped too low in the sky, I treated myself to drawing the blossoms that had been battered by last night’s powerful storm….. the one that was supposed to have arrived today.  It’s so much easier to be stuck in the house cleaning when it is pouring rain outside.

Sketchbook drawing: drawn first with fountain pen followed by watercolor

