The ‘WE’ collaborative painting project has begun.  The first trade of panels happened this weekend.

Stage One by Stephanie Smith

The panels are 10″ x 10″ and .75″ thick with a hanging hole drilled in the back, perhaps limiting the position that the panel will be hung.  Participants picked up the blank panels two weeks ago.  Each panel will be painted on by three different artists.  Each artist must leave something of the previous artists’ work visible.  The above panel is the one I received in exchange for the panel I turned in.

Stage One by Chris Carter

I decided to add three-dimensional elements on each of my three panels.  I’ve saved this netting for a couple of years, waiting for the perfect project and I think this is it.  I sealed the panel with acrylic GAC before applying some scrubs of acrylic yellows and oranges.  Finally, I adhered white tissue paper and the black netting to the surface using acrylic matte medium.

The final panels will be exhibited at Connexions Gallery in August.

