Yesterday I attended the first of four sessions of a printmaking workshop taught by Sheila Goloborotko. Inspired by the process of creating a monoprint, I created an abstract ghost image on my paper prior to drawing the oil cans.

pencil drawing over ghost image wash

I felt my brain thinking along a different path as I painted the oil cans.  My anxiety level rose, finding myself in slightly unfamiliar territory.  What a great experience of expansion!

Family Treasures No. 20, Oil Cans

As a final touch, I drew into the snake extension with a white gel pen.

There will definitely be several more paintings of my father’s oil cans in the future.

Color Scheme: Analogous with split complements    Dominant Color: Violet.  The split complements are yellow/green and yellow/orange.

